International Board of Directors 

Breakthrough T1D’s governing body is tasked with accelerating mission progress.

Fiscal Year 2025 Members

  • Lisa F. Wallack, Chair
  • Michael Alter
  • Mike Gordon
  • Michelle Griffin
  • Joseph (Joe) P. Lacher, Jr.
  • Carlton McMillan
  • Chris Turner 
  • Karey L. Witty
  • Matt Varey, Vice Chair
  • Elizabeth Caswell
  • Claudia Graham, Ph.D., MPH
  • Karen Jordan
  • Per Lundin
  • Jen Schneider
  • Drayton Virkler 
Breakthrough T1D’s strategic leadership has led to the many advances that have made it safer and easier to live with T1D.” 

Lisa F. Wallack

International Board of Directors Chair

Executive Team 

Breakthrough T1D’s executive team partners with our leadership boards to advance our mission.

CEO Aaron J. Kowalski, Ph.D.
Aaron J. Kowalski, Ph.D., speaks at one of Breakthrough T1D’s many events.

Aaron J. Kowalski, Ph.D. 
Breakthrough T1D CEO

Chief Executive Officer Aaron J. Kowalski, Ph.D., drives strategies to advance Breakthrough T1D’s mission to cure, prevent, and treat T1D and its complications. Dr. Kowlaski joined the organization in 2004 and held the position of Chief Mission Officer before assuming his current role as CEO, leading Breakthrough T1D’s research and advocacy strategy. Dr. Kowalski is an internationally recognized scientific expert in T1D research. He has also served as a policy leader for the organization, regularly advising Congress, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Dr. Kowalski’s scientific expertise, personal experience living with T1D for more than 35 years, and his ability to engage the T1D community enable him to lead Breakthrough T1D in our path to cures

  • Dr. Thomas Danne
    Chief Medical Officer, International
  • Sanjoy Dutta, Ph.D.
    Chief Scientific Officer
  • Rob King
    Chief Financial and Administrative Officer
  • Pam Morrisroe
    Chief Marketing Officer
  • Kathleen Seitz
    Chief Global Development Officer
  • Steven St. Peter, M.D.
    Managing Director, T1D Fund
  • Katie Ellias
    Managing Director, T1D Fund
  • Tracy Mido
    Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Jesse Raben
    Chief Legal and Risk Officer
  • Eric Shen
    Chief of Staff, T1D Fund
  • Lynn Starr
    Chief Global Advocacy Officer
  • Sylvia Tobe
    Managing Director, T1D Fund
  • Vish Jain
    Chief Information Officer
Today, people with T1D are living healthier lives because of the breakthroughs we have championed.”

Aaron J. Kowalski, Ph.D.

Breakthrough T1D CEO

Board of Directors for the T1D Fund: A Breakthrough T1D Venture

The Fund is Breakthrough T1D’s venture investment entity, governed by a distinct board.
  • Tim Clark, Chair
  • Karen Jordan
  • Ellen Leake
  • Jay Eastman
  • Aaron J. Kowalski, Ph.D.
  • David Nelms
  • Amy Raskin
  • Jennifer Ross
We are at a critical inflection point for type 1 diabetes investment and T1D Fund leadership is steadfast in investing in and accelerating cures that may help this devastating condition.” 

Tim Clark

T1D Fund Board of Directors Chair

Global Mission Board

A group of national volunteer leaders who accelerate Breakthrough T1D’s mission progress through special initiatives.
  • Matthew Cohn, Chair
  • Randy Anderson
  • Cathy Baier
  • Matthew Cohn
  • Jennie Costner
  • Maarten deGroot
  • Pam Edmonds
  • Ian Joyce
  • Marshall Lang
  • James Lurie, Esq.
  • Mike Norona
  • Carol Oxenreiter
  • Derek Rapp
  • Kim Roosevelt
  • Lorne Schiff
  • Michael Soper
  • Jeff Adams
  • Carmen Ashley
  • Tim Clark
  • Meredith Coors
  • Laura Cramer
  • Nanette DeTurk
  • Cynthia Ford
  • Mark Kacher
  • Mike Lee
  • Gwen Malone
  • Dayton Ogden
  • Margery Perry
  • Lisa Reed
  • Brad Schur
  • David Schwab
  • Jerry Wisler
The volunteer-staff partnership is at the core of everything we have achieved and continues to drive us forward every day. ”

Matthew Cohn

Global Mission Board Chair